UPSC (IAS) 2019: Notification, Exam Date, Pattern, Syllabus, Salary, FAQs

Posted on :April 16th 2019, 9:34 am

IAS ( Indian Administrative Service) exam is a nationwide competitive examination conducted by UPSC for the recruitment of various services like IAS, IFS, IPS and more. The purpose of this recruitment is to select the best suitable candidate for the Indian Administration Unit who will give their contribution in serving the country. The IAS Job is one of the renowned jobs in the country. Many youngsters have a dream to be an IAS officer. The IAS officer is the one who has the ability to take a decision and will have leadership quality to lead the departments in Indian administration.Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is one of the toughest and higher level jobs that the candidates are considering it as their life goal.An IAS officer is also a representative of Government of India, responsible for holding various positions like Cabinet secretary, chief secretary, head of various public sector departments and collector etc.

The eligibility criterion is needed to satisfy to make sure whether you can appear in competitive examination or not. Before going directly towards the application form, exam pattern, and syllabus. You should read UPSC Civil Services 2018 Eligibility Criteria. Let us check it out.

Educationl Qualification

The candidate should have graduation degree from a government recognized college or university or its equivalent.

Age Limits

Candidate's age should be between 21 to 32 years to fill UPSC Civil Services 2018 Application Form.

The age limit is different for all the categories according to the government policies and norms

Category Upper age limit
General 32 Years
OBC 35 Years
SC/ST 37 Years
PWD 42 Years
J & K Domicile GEN=37 Year, OBC= 40 Year, SC/ST=40 Year, PH=50 Year
Disabled servicemen. GEN=37 Year, OBC=40 Year, SC/ST=40 Year.

Number of Attempts

Category Number of Attempts
General 6
SC/ST No Limit


It is mandatory for all UPSC exam that the candidate must be an Indian personnel. A citizen of Nepal, a citizen of Bhutan or a refugee from any other country can apply for the IAS 2018 exam, in order to fulfill the criteria, they must have the permanent plan to settle in India.

Selection Process

The IAS 2018 Selection Procedure comprises three consecutive levels:

1. Civil Services (Preliminary) Exam : This is the 1st stage to shortlist candidates for IAS / Civil Services Main examination. This exam will be available with objective type questions.

2. Civil Services (Main) Exam : This is a 2nd stage to shortlist candidates for next level. This exam consists of written examination and personal interview.

  • Written Examination
  • Personal Interview

3. Final Selection : The total number of marks scored by the candidates in the IAS Main examination (Both written test and personal interview ) will be taken into an opinion for final merit list. The candidate's selection based on the final merit.